How Many Countries Are in Paris Climate Agreement

The Paris climate agreement, adopted in 2015, is a historic international agreement aimed at reducing greenhouse gas emissions and limiting global warming. The agreement was signed by 195 countries plus the European Union, but how many countries are currently in the Paris climate agreement?

As of 2021, there are 190 countries that have ratified the Paris climate agreement. This means that these countries have agreed to take actions to reduce their greenhouse gas emissions and work towards the goals outlined in the agreement.

The remaining five countries have signed the agreement but have not yet ratified it. These countries are Angola, Eritrea, Iran, Iraq, and South Sudan.

It is worth noting that the United States, which is the second-largest emitter of greenhouse gases in the world, withdrew from the Paris climate agreement in 2020 under the direction of former President Donald Trump. However, President Joe Biden has signed an executive order to rejoin the agreement, and the US is expected to officially rejoin in 2021.

So while there are currently 190 countries in the Paris climate agreement, the number will soon increase to 191 with the rejoining of the US.

Overall, the Paris climate agreement is an important international effort to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and combat climate change. The participation of so many countries demonstrates a global commitment to this important issue, and it is hoped that continued cooperation will lead to a more sustainable future for all.